This Discussion channel is currently closed.

THIS NOTICE IS IMPORTANT TO YOU - IF YOU LIVE IN THE PARKRIDGE NEIGHBOURHOOD SOUTH OF 22ND STREET AND HART ROAD, WEST OF FAIRLIGHT DRIVE, NORTH OF CP RAIL LINES AND EAST OF HGWY 7.

On December 7, 2016, residents of the Parkridge neighbourhood were invited to attend a public meeting to review and discuss a draft neighbourhood-wide traffic plan for their area. The meeting was hosted by the City of Saskatoon, Transportation Division.

On April 21, 2016, Parkridge residents participated in discussions and identified ideas and solutions to address traffic concerns in their neighbourhood. Based on feedback and information received during this meeting, other sources, traffic counts and existing traffic studies, the Transportation Division prepared a draft neighbourhood-wide traffic plan. The meeting on December 7th provided Parkridge residents, business owners, property owners, local groups and other stakeholders an opportunity to comment on specific traffic adjustments being proposed for this neighbourhood.

Please join us as we discuss the traffic issues that affect you and your neighbourhood.

(Attachments are also available at https://www.saskatoon.ca/moving-around/driving-roadways/managing-traffic/traffic-studies/neighbourhood-traffic-reviews.)

Couldn't make the meeting? Join the discussion below by clicking the blue 'View Topic' box.

For more information, please contact:

Mariniel Flores, P.Eng., Transportation Engineer
306.975.3463
mariniel.flores@saskatoon.ca

Share your ideas and suggestions to address traffic concerns in your neighbourhood. Click the blue 'View Topic' box to join the discussion.

13 Responses

Default_avatar
Michele Mason over 2 years ago

So why did you waste everyone"s time to come to a meeting where you had already decided you where not opening the street in the new area for access to Walmart and the shopping area on that side . there are already enough accidents at the lights on Fairlight to turn onto Diefenbaker and now you want to add more traffic , you had a gym full of people who now live in this area and wanted to discuss this issue and you shut them out the people who were involved in the original conversation were a select few and i am sure some of them aren't even living in this area anymore .

1 Vote
Default_avatar
Mariniel Flores admin over 2 years ago

Hi Michele. Thank you for your comments. Traffic issues and concerns on Local and Collector streets within the Parkridge neighbourhood will be reviewed as part of the Parkridge Neighbourhood Traffic Review. Opening/closing roads is not a part of the Neighbourhood Traffic Reviews.

Mariniel Flores, Transportation Engineer, Engineer-in-Training, Transportation

0 Votes
Default_avatar
Rob Martell almost 2 years ago

Then how do we revisit the issue of opening access to blairmore?

0 Votes
 
 
 
Default_avatar
Ron Stevens almost 2 years ago

I attended the meeting of Dec 7. I was disappointed that neither the response address nor the road stats were available as handouts at the meeting. Todate the minutes of the Dec 7 meeting are also not published and the stats were not emailed till Dec 19. The recommendations are difficult to find and I knew what they looked like. Shapingsaskatoon does not provide a search option. Google provides the April meeting and the Dec invitation, but the Dec meeting minutes do not exist. The attachments are eventually located but again the discussion on those recommendations are still not on the site. The one month response during December makes it very difficult to communicate to residents in Parkridge. Could it be extended, even a week? Our PCA is organizing a meeting for Jan 10 and perhaps more people could be advised to respond at that time. The timeline should not be affected as there were no expensive recommendations made. I will respond separately to the recommendations. If Traffic is at all interested in the responses of residents, it should allow a one-two week extension considering the holiday time in Dec.

0 Votes
Default_avatar
Mariniel Flores admin almost 2 years ago

Hi Ron. My apologies. The December 7 meeting minutes are now posted and the closing date has been extended to January 16. Thank you.

Mariniel Flores, Transportation Engineer, Transportation

0 Votes
 
 
Default_avatar
Ron Stevens almost 2 years ago

There were 6 recommendations for the Parkridge Traffic Review. The first was the four-way stop on Fairlight, The April meeting outlined issues of vehicles not stopping. To this, zebra crosswalks were suggested! Why not a round-about (as suggested in April) or larger stop signs if flashing red lights are not possible? Item 2 lists the replacement of 20 yield signs to Stop signs, basically every crescent/place/court. The stats show 6 accidents at intersections meeting McCormack Road in the last year, however only 4 are at existing intersections with yield signs. Stop signs may improve safety but only one other neighborhood Traffic Review in Saskatoon recommends stop signs at all intersections. If not an overall city issue then do not impose it here just to make more recommendations. They do not help to resolve the speeding issue on McCormack Road as outlined in the April meeting. Third item was installing mid-block 'temporary' median islands at 3 locations. From the stats collected, 40,022/73,307 vehicles were speeding within Posnikoff exits on McCormack. That is significant.The medians will alert drivers to slow down but how long is 'temporary'? A speed display board was suggested for this block. I hate speed bumps and therefore welcome other awareness options to slow traffic there. Fourth item was to install a speed display board facing southbound traffic on Fairlight. We were advised that this was only a couple weeks placement so how effective will that be? Also it was recommended at the church parking lot only 50 ft from the Fairlight/McCormack lights. The April meeting stressed speeding was a big issue on Fairlight so why not place the speed board half way down Fairlight? Response was it might bother someone there! Well putting it next to the intersection is as effective as putting it in the park! If its only a few weeks, place it where the speeding occurs, not at the church! The speed board was also recommended by residents between Postnikoff entrances on McCormack. That would be most effective as speed is high there. Fifth item, installing 'no parking' signs on Hart for greater visibility. Seems worth a try. Sixth, installing a protected left-turn light for eastbound traffic at Fairlight and Diefenbaker. Great idea and long overdue.Access to Blairmore directly from Parkridge Extension was brought up at every table. However Traffic says this is outside their scope to open a roadway. It will be a major issue in future traffic flows and should be forwarded to the department that can visit it. I thought a Traffic Review would bring forward concerns about the lack of exits in the area, especially in the new zone. Congestion and forcing traffic through the school zones should be expressed in the report as a future issue and directed elsewhere as per the report. Isn't this about traffic?

1 Vote
Default_avatar
Mariniel Flores admin almost 2 years ago

Hi Ron. Thank you for your feedback. They have been documented for further consideration.

Mariniel Flores, Transportation Engineer, Transportation

0 Votes
 
 
Default_avatar
Rob Martell almost 2 years ago

If I understand it correctly. The city asked residents about access to the new high schools and to blairmore years ago. The response was that the residents did not want additional traffic short cutting through parkridge to access the new areas.

What this argument doesn't account for are those that live further west only have one option to access or exit the neighborhood. Not only is this a waste of time and inefficient, it serves to frustrate drivers which causes more problems such as speeding and careless driving.

What the residents of this neighborhood have to remember is that this is not a gated community. We live in a city where people should be allowed to drive where they need to without trapping them and forcing them into already poorly running intersections, i.e. Fairlight and Diefenbaker.

I for one would welcome more traffic on Kinloch Cres where I live to deter theft and break ins.

0 Votes
Default_avatar
Marni Bradford almost 2 years ago

As someone else that resides on Kinloch Crescent with my young family I do not support opening access to Blairmore. I have heard from many people who live in the surrounding communities that they would use the shortcut to get to or from their shopping. Adding that much extra traffic to McCormack Road (that is already not in great condition) plus more traffic through residential areas is not smart or safe.

I did not realize that there are theft and break-in issues on this street? What issues have you experienced?

0 Votes
Default_avatar
Rob Martell almost 2 years ago

I have had a break in and someone stole my Christmas lights.

Had I realized that I would not have access to the new neighborhood and services within sight of my home, I would not have purchased here. I will be looking to move and sell when I can afford to.

0 Votes
 
Default_avatar
Mariniel Flores admin almost 2 years ago

Thank you for your feedback Rob & Marni. They have been documented for further consideration.

Mariniel Flores, Transportation Engineer, Transportation

0 Votes
 
Default_avatar
Mariniel Flores admin almost 2 years ago

Hi Rob. You can reserve five minutes to speak during the Transportation Committee and City Council meetings when the Parkridge Traffic Plan is presented. Thank you.

Mariniel Flores, Transportation Engineer, Transportation

0 Votes
 
 
 
Default_avatar
Troy Souster almost 2 years ago

The topic of opening or closing the Blairmore access was discussed by the Parkridge Community Association ad nauseum while the Blairmore Urban Centre planning was taking place. The City Councillor for this ward attended these meetings which were also open to all to attend as all Community Association meetings are open to community members.

It was decided that the access was not favorable as it would increase the through traffic coming in from other communities as an access to the Urban Shopping area.

This was again revisited at City Council during City Council meeetings when again, members of the Parkridge Community attended and voiced their concerns. At that time Councillor Pat Lorje spoke and agreed that opening the Blairmore access would not be good for Parkridge as she herself would use it as a short cut. It was her opinion that members of Montgomery, Fairhaven and other traffic coming off Circle would potentially use McCormack Road as an access point to the urban shopping area, thus increasing traffic flow and possible speed through the neighborhood.

Council agreed at that point, based on the presented information that the access would only be for emerency vehicles.

1 Vote