Residents of Silverwood Heights neighbourhood are invited to attend a public meeting to review and discuss a draft neighbourhood-wide traffic plan for their area. The meeting will be hosted by the City of Saskatoon, Transportation Division.

On May 16, 2017, Silverwood Heights residents participated in discussions and identified ideas and solutions to address traffic concerns in their neighbourhood. Based on feedback and information received during this meeting, other sources, traffic counts and existing traffic studies, the Transportation Division has prepared a draft neighbourhood-wide traffic plan. The meeting on November 23rd will provide Silverwood Heights residents, business owners, property owners, local groups and other stakeholders an opportunity to comment on specific traffic adjustments being proposed for this neighbourhood.

Please join us as we discuss the traffic issues that affect you and your neighbourhood.

The attachments are also available at https://www.saskatoon.ca/moving-around/driving-roadways/managing-traffic/traffic-studies/neighbourhood-traffic-reviews.

Can't make the meeting? Join the discussion below by clicking the blue 'View Topic' box.

For more information, please contact:
Mariniel Flores, P.Eng., Transportation Engineer
306.975.3463
mariniel.flores@saskatoon.ca

Share your ideas and suggestions to address traffic concerns in your neighbourhood. Click the blue 'View Topic' box to join the discussion.

36 Responses

Before you respond to this topic please: Sign In or Sign Up
Default_avatar
Marlene Constant 6 months ago

We need to slow the traffic on Whiteswan Drive. Vehicles travelling down the hill,from Silverwood Road, pick up speed and race down the hill and around the curve. We need speed bumps at the crosswalks to slow vehicles down! A crosswalk with a speed bump I s required at the entrance to the trails behind Ball and Perrault....beside houses numbered 604 and 607. Lots of pedestrian traffic. Lots of school children walking along this street.

1 Vote
Default_avatar
Mariniel Flores admin 6 months ago

Hi Marlene. Thank you for your comments. Traffic issues and concerns on Local and Collector streets within the Silverwood Heights neighbourhood will be reviewed as part of the Silverwood Heights Neighbourhood Traffic Review.

Mariniel Flores, Transportation Engineer, Transportation

0 Votes
 
 
Default_avatar
Amanda Matic 6 months ago

I was not able to make it to the meeting as I have new baby at home, but I do have some traffic concerns. I walk my kids to Silverwood school, up Whiteswan hill, and cars drive way to fast on this road - so do large trucks. I am worried for the safety of my children when we go to school or even just to the park. I think speed bumps would be a great way to slow down traffic. I also agree that we need a crosswalk to the entrance to the trail behind Ball and Perrault. Pedestrians are always crossing at this area to get to the trails and dog parks. It is a tricky road to cross without a pedestrian crossing (and speed bump) to slow cars down. As we walk to school, there is a large beautiful and empty field behind the houses on AE Adams Lane. It would be lovely if a trail could be put in this field - similar to a trail behind Perrault and Ball. There is lots of traffic (and fast traffic) on Whiteswan and it would be safer for pedestrians - esp children- to have a path to walk & bike along that is not so close to the road. Too many cars are swerving on this road due to speed and probably texting while driving. Lets keep our community and children safe by creating safer areas!

1 Vote
Default_avatar
Mariniel Flores admin 6 months ago

Hi Amanda. Thank you for your comments. These will be reviewed as part of the Silverwood Heights Neighbourhood Traffic Review.

Mariniel Flores, Transportation Engineer, Transportation

0 Votes
 
 
Default_avatar
Velda Beaman 6 months ago

I see the intersection of Adilman Drive and Waneskewin Rd as a dangerous intersection. I am usually turning off Adilman to go southbound on Waneskewin and have witnessed numerous SB and NB vehicles running the red light. I have developed the habit of pausing after I have a green light to check both directions for vehicles about to run the red light. I do not know how many accidents have occurred here, but I think, with speeds people are travelling, that they could be fairly severe accidents. Aside from more frequent enforcement at this intersection, I would like to see some other review done. Perhaps different timing of the lights might work, or an advance signal for traffic on Waneskewin that the light is about to change.

0 Votes
Default_avatar
Mariniel Flores admin 6 months ago

Hi Velda. Thank you for your comments. These will be reviewed as part of the Silverwood Heights Neighbourhood Traffic Review.

Mariniel Flores, Transportation Engineer, Transportation

0 Votes
 
 
Default_avatar
R Martin 6 months ago

Suggestions: A flashing green light for 8 sec. on Waneskewin Rd would indicate to drivers the light will soon turn to Amber.

All side streets approaching a main road like Silverwood Rd, Adilman Dr., should all have Stop signs. Yield signs that are there now is pointless..........drivers treat Stop signs as Yield signs anyways but at least drivers do slow down somewhat for a Stop sign.

0 Votes
Default_avatar
Mariniel Flores admin 6 months ago

Hi R Martin. Thank you for your comments. These will be reviewed as part of the Silverwood Heights Neighbourhood Traffic Review.

Mariniel Flores, Transportation Engineer, Transportation

0 Votes
 
Default_avatar
Don Miller 6 months ago

comment..Awesome idea! I have driven all over the world, and Saskatoon, bar none is one of the most frustrating, non-driver friendly city Period! we can and must do better. I would be more comfortable on the Autobahn than Warman Road!

0 Votes
 
 
Default_avatar
Jacjie Mckee 6 months ago

A 3 way stop at Whiteswan and Lenore will just trade one problem for another. It might decrease some speed but will greatly increase the noise of vehicles , especially motorcycles and large trucks, as they accelerate through the intersection. I live two houses away from this intersection and moved here for peace and quiet from a stop sign near by. If you have lived by a stop sign you will understand . Before the decision is made to put a 3 way stop at Whiteswan and Lenore I think the 8 -10 households who will be most directly effected by this increased noise round the clock need to he consulted individually . Decreasing one problem at the cost of increasing another problem is not solving any problem.

0 Votes
Default_avatar
Mariniel Flores admin 6 months ago

Hi Jacjie. Thank you for your comments. These will be reviewed as part of the Silverwood Heights Neighbourhood Traffic Review.

Mariniel Flores, Transportation Engineer, Transportation

0 Votes
 
 
Default_avatar
Korryn Diehl 6 months ago

The city needs to add adequate 30 km school zone signs in front of St. Anne's parish/BJM high school, heading east on Lenore. If you are turning right from Primrose onto Lenore at BJM high school, there is NO 30 km speed limit sign, and there is no way for drivers who are unfamiliar with the area to know where the school zone begins and ends. Besides being unsafe to the students, police set up speed traps there frequently and conveniently. (They have 30 km school zone signs before the intersection, and heading west on Lenore but for some reason, they forgot to add them going east).

1 Vote
Default_avatar
Mariniel Flores admin 6 months ago

Hi Korryn. Thank you for your comments. These will be reviewed as part of the Silverwood Heights Neighbourhood Traffic Review.

Mariniel Flores, Transportation Engineer, Transportation

0 Votes
 
 
Default_avatar
Dale Tallon 6 months ago

Unfortunately I was unable to attend your meeting at Marion Graham on May 16.

But if do have a couple of suggestions!

1) At the Corner of Lenore Drive and Russel Road, north bound , Any vehicles turning left on Nordstrom Road impede the flow of traffic as it is a very short distance between Lenore and Nordstrom. My suggestion is to make the Right hand lane (north bound ) a through or passing lane to go around vehicles turning left on to Nordstrom. This would involve having a no parking section(on Russel on the east side)) from the corner of Lenore to just past the apartment parking driveway ramp.

I Hope this makes sense !

2) When planning new areas please don’t put schools on the busy feeder roads. They have high volumes of traffic and increase the possibilities of accidents even with school zones. This also slows the movement of traffic at rush hours which correspond to school zone times. Silverwood Road is a good example. 2 Schools on the busiest feeder in Silverwood. Had the schools been turned around and a cul-de-sac been put in entering from Malloy and Meilicke. There would be a quiet amount of traffic in front of the schools and Silverwood road would be a normal feeder road.

1 Vote
 
Default_avatar
Dale Tallon 6 months ago

I'm not sure speed bumps on Whiteswan is the solution. Keeping kids on the sidewalk when walking and cars on the street when driving might be an easier solution .

0 Votes
Default_avatar
Mariniel Flores admin 6 months ago

Hi Dale. Thank you for your comments and suggestions. These will be reviewed as part of the Silverwood Heights Neighbourhood Traffic Review.

Mariniel Flores, Transportation Engineer, Transportation

0 Votes
 
 
Default_avatar
Errol Block, Retired/Disabled 6 months ago

Is there any way to put a handicap spot or a private parking spot in front of my house? I'm handicapped and on home dialysis and need to be able to park in front of my own house. I also need room for supply trucks for my supplies that are delivered on a regular basis. I live at the top of a "T" and people from the duplexes up the street want to park there. We have room for two vehicles up front and everyone wants to take up both spots for themselves. I've had to have some of them ticketed for parking too long and not moving. A speed bump wouldn't hurt either as there are lots of kids in the neighborhood and some vehicles go way too fast through here. Thanks for your consideration.

0 Votes
Default_avatar
Mariniel Flores admin 6 months ago

Hi Errol. Thank you for your comments.

Please call (306) 975-2454 to apply for disabled parking signs.

Your speeding and pedestrian safety concerns will be reviewed as part of the Silverwood Heights Neighbourhood Traffic Review.

Mariniel Flores, Transportation Engineer, Transportation

0 Votes
 
 
Default_avatar
Garry Phillips 6 months ago

I have noticed that not all school zone signage is highly visible especially when driving in an area of the city that you are not familiar with. To make school zone more visible could we not have road painted markings to designate when you are entering and exiting a school zone. This could be done with minimal expense by using zebra white painted strips or markings?

0 Votes
Default_avatar
Mariniel Flores admin 6 months ago

Hi Garry. Thank you for your comments. These will be reviewed as part of the Silverwood Heights Neighbourhood Traffic Review.

Mariniel Flores, Transportation Engineer, Transportation

0 Votes
 
 
Default_avatar
Kent Pointon 6 months ago

We have several traffic problems in the neighbourhood, a few of them have been mentioned. 1. Speeding on Whiteswan Drive especially coming down the hill to the treatment plant 2. Speeding on Adilman Drive throughout. 3. Illegal U-turns on Lenore at numerous intersections from Wanuskewin to Whiteswan with Cree Crescent being the worst.

0 Votes
Default_avatar
Mariniel Flores admin 6 months ago

Hi Kent. Thank you for your comments. These will be reviewed as part of the Silverwood Heights Neighbourhood Traffic Review.

Mariniel Flores, Transportation Engineer, Transportation

0 Votes
 
 
Default_avatar
Mike Heseltine 6 months ago

I like the "active pedestrian corridors". If I have the right name, these are the crosswalks with pedestrian-activated flashing amber lights. I realize they are expensive, but I would like to see more of them. particularly on Whiteswan Drive.

The south-bound curve on Silverwood Road, between the junctions with Whiteswan Drive and O'Brien Crescent, is too much for some speeders, particularly in the winter. It would be good to slow them down. Speed bumps?

Count-down timers at Lenore and 51st would be very helpful in reducing red-light running and rear-ending. I understand that installing red-light cameras has reduced T collisions and increased rear-ending. The other solution, in my opinion, is to increase the length of the amber signal.

When the red-light is activated at the pedestrian crossing at Redberrry Road and Lenore Drive, motorists should not be allowed to make a right turn over the crosswalk. I believe the stop line on the road is intended to do this, but I have not seen a single driver stop at the line rather than making the right turn.

While it is not the City's responsibility, the school zone signs placed each day on the median or sidewalk are highly visible. I don't think the Catholic School system uses these but they should be encouraged to do so.

1 Vote
Default_avatar
august smeby 6 months ago

why cant traffic west and east on 51 street and warman be the same as the traffic north and south. no short left turn lights and then having drivers peeking around cars driving straight through. accidents coming now

1 Vote
Default_avatar
Mariniel Flores admin 6 months ago

Hi Mike & August. Thank you for your comments. These will be reviewed as part of the Silverwood Heights Neighbourhood Traffic Review.

Mariniel Flores, Transportation Engineer, Transportation

0 Votes
 
 
 
Default_avatar
Erin Pederson 6 months ago

Something needs to be done on Adilman Drive. There are cars that speed down here way to fast. There has been many nights I can hear them speed and getting faster. One day it's not going to be so good it one was to crash.

0 Votes
Default_avatar
Mariniel Flores admin 6 months ago

Hi Erin. Thank you for your comments. These will be reviewed as part of the Silverwood Heights Neighbourhood Traffic Review.

Mariniel Flores, Transportation Engineer, Transportation

0 Votes
 
 
Default_avatar
M Peters 6 months ago

I also agree something should be done to slow cars on Adilman Dr., especially at the cross walk on Spencer Cres. and Rowles Rd. Have you ever tried to cross there? Cars speed and won’t stop for pedestrians; if you stand there cars will continue to blow by. The only way to get cars to stop is by walking out into the intersection which is extremely dangerous. I'd rather play Leap Frog on a game console than risk my life or the lives of my kids. I’d like to suggest a contoured speed bump as they have on Meilickie Road which would be less costly than a pedestrian lighting system.

0 Votes
Default_avatar
Mike Heseltine 6 months ago

I find myself waiting at the speed bumps on Meilickie Road fairly often, noting that some drivers don't seem to slow down at all. Possibly the bumps are too smooth. The bumps also don't help drivers notice pedestrians, particularly at dusk and after dark. I wonder how much cheaper the bumps are compared to the pedestrian corridor lights.

0 Votes
Default_avatar
Mariniel Flores admin 6 months ago

Hi M Peters & Mike. Thank you for your comments. These will be reviewed as part of the Silverwood Heights Neighbourhood Traffic Review.

Mariniel Flores, Transportation Engineer, Transportation

0 Votes
 
 
 
Default_avatar
Don Miller 6 months ago

comment...I have requested the City install declining numerical amber lights at Warman and 51st. We drivers need to know where we are at when approaching an intersection, not facing a mental lottery wondering how many times the amber walk light three lanes over has blinked, Distracted driving is an offence. who do we charge when the City is negligent in causing us to be distracted? Many drivers are riding their brakes as they approach Warman and 51st, totally paranoid about getting a ticket when the light changes! Get it right for once. I have lived in the neighborhood for 21 years now! nothing ever changes!

0 Votes
Default_avatar
Mariniel Flores admin 6 months ago

Hi Don. Thank you for your comments. These will be reviewed as part of the Silverwood Heights Neighbourhood Traffic Review.

Mariniel Flores, Transportation Engineer, Transportation

0 Votes
 
 
Default_avatar
Dominique Beaulieu 6 months ago

As you know, Goerzen Street is a feeder street into the community. Also, it is a physically wide street. Both of these things contribute to vehicles using the street inappropriately as they speed through to turn onto Russell Road or Wanuskewin. This has been happening since we moved into our house in 2007. There are two elementary schools at the end of our street and the last short block of the street is zoned as a 30 km/h school zone. This zone is hardly obeyed by drivers. Being that there are two schools close by there is a lot of young pedestrian traffic on our street. We have noticed a number of incidences on Goerzen Street since living here. In 2009 my wife was rear-ended by a speeding car as she turned into our driveway. My wife was unable to get close to the sidewalk to move out of the way due to a parked vehicle and the driver behind her was too close and too fast to slow down in time. Luckily she, nor my then year-old son, were hurt. Most recently there was a hit and run in front of my house where my mother's car was substantially damaged. Luckily, no one was hurt and there was a witness who identified the driver as well as the fact that he was travelling quite quickly down the street when it happened. I understand that these things can and do happen everywhere, but I do feel that speeding is to blame. Additionally, and most horrifying, is the fact that we see cars passing other cars on our street as you would see on a 2-lane highway. This isn't a frequent occurrence, but we definitely see it happen. Most noticeable times that this occurs is when the dashed line is repainted in the spring. People see that dashed line and assume it means they can pass. I disagree with that line being dashed and wish it was solid to avoid seeing the high speeds people use to pass each other.

Despite all the potentially dangerous situations the speeding traffic places us and our kids in, it is also an annoyance. The noise associated with cars travelling faster than posted speed is quite noticeable. Also, when the streets are wet and I walk my children to school I often feel splashes on my legs from speeding vehicles hitting puddles in the lane.

I know there are methods of slowing traffic down and they cost money and have other implications, but I strongly feel the need for something to be done on Goerzen Street. I have looked at the City of Saskatoon's website and seen the document pertaining to traffic calming and feel our street would qualify. I should mention that the street does not have a crosswalk on it for its entire length. There are children being picked up and dropped off by the school bus who have to cross against traffic twice a day. It seems dangerous to me and I question the policy of the school bus company to allow that, but it occurs daily in front of my house. Many of my neighbours feel the same way and would tell you the same types of stories.

I hope that you will add my comments to your data as you move forward on this traffic review. I strongly feel that this problem needs to be solved before there is a serious injury or death. However, I also feel somewhat powerless to help as I have taken many steps to seek help on this matter with little results. If you have any questions for me or would like more information from my end, I would be happy to help. Thanks in advance.

0 Votes
 
Default_avatar
Mariniel Flores admin 6 months ago

Hi Dominique. Thank you for your comments. These will be reviewed as part of the Silverwood Heights Neighbourhood Traffic Review.

Mariniel Flores, Transportation Engineer, Transportation

0 Votes
 
Default_avatar
Marlene Constant 5 months ago

I see a common thread...we need to slow traffic on many of the residential streets! Has anyone ever thought of the photo radar? I realize the city has a few along Circle Drive and some school zones. I know it's a money making venture! Can the community purchase a number of boxes and a few cameras? If they are moved around from spot to spot, it will make people slow down! Money talks!! You only need to get a few speeding tickets to change your habits! The revenue from the tickets could help with the community, or if revenues go to the city, to offset taxes.... This could be a positive way to slow traffic on Whiteswan, Adilman, Russel, Goertzen and any other problem areas.

0 Votes